It has come to light that WhatsApp has been testing a new “View Once ” feature for its photos and videos. Whatapp has been testing this feature since June and just recently launched it for its users. the concept of the feature follows along the same lines as seen in Snapchat, Instagram, and Facebook Messenger.
The user can send “View Once” photos and videos through the WhatsApp messaging app. The recipient can access the photo or video by clicking it. This feature doesn’t let the sent image or video be viewed once it has been closed.
A post by Engadget tells that the official help article of this feature warns about the intended “privacy” this provides. According to it while the “View Once” photo or video is open, the recipient can still take screenshots or record their screen. Furthermore, WhatsApp won’t notify the sender if ever a screenshot or record was taken of the photo or video in this feature. Due to the end-to-end encryption, the View Once media isn’t visible to Whatapp. Although Whatsapp can access it if the content sent has been reported by the user.
So, even though this feature seems like a great idea but how helpful it can be is still to be seen.
Also, Read: Mi Mix 4: Launching with Under-Display Camera