WhatsApp is getting a new mode like Snapchat wherein the messages, as well as other media, can be viewed only once and will disappear once you dismiss them. The feature is getting rolled out on WhatsApp Beta for Android.
The feature can be turned on by a little timer button while sending text, photos, videos, or anything.
After the recipient has opened the messages that you have sent using the View Once feature, the message will disappear and turn into “opened”, just like on Snapchat.
The above images are courtesy of WABetaInfo where the same feature rollout was confirmed by Mark Zuckerberg and Will Cathcart.
The website also notes some other important points about the feature –
- If you disable read receipts, the recipient will still see if you have opened the photo or video set to view once, but you cannot see when the recipient opens yours. In groups, you can see when other participants open expiring photos even if you have disabled read receipts.
- The recipient might save the photo or video taking screenshots or video captures, and WhatsApp won’t notify you because there isn’t a screenshot detection: be careful!
- You can also share photos and videos set to view once in groups, and you can see who opened them in Message Info.
- Blocked contacts in common groups can still open those photos and videos: in fact, they cannot message or call you but they can still interact with you in groups.
- If you send a photo using view once to people that haven’t this feature enabled, the view once feature will still work and they can only view it once.
The feature is currently available for all WhatsApp beta Android users and will be followed by a rollout in the main app in the coming months.