Google Translate’s camera now adds 13 new languages

Google announced that the camera within the Translate app for iOS and Android is now able to translate 13 new languages including Arabic, Bengali, Hindi, Thai, and Vietnamese. The update is available starting today and will be rolled out to Translate users worldwide in the coming days, a company spokesperson told VentureBeat in an email.

This visual translation feature allows users to point their phone at a menu, sign, or any other text in order to convert it. Once the image has been analyzed, you can select any part to see the resulting translation as a pop-up.

Today’s update brings Camera Translations to Arabic, Thai, Vietnamese, Hindi, Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Nepali, Punjabi, Tamil, and Telugu. Translations between any of those two languages are now also supported.

Leveraging Neural Machine Translation, these 13 new languages join 26 others that already support this functionality. Before today, English could be translated into any language, but not the other way around.

The news comes a day after the announcement that Lens, computer vision from Google that works with Google Assistant, will be made available in real time as part of the camera for the Pixel 3 due out November 1.

Lens can scan business cards, identify objects and landmarks, perform Style Search to find an outfit you like, and read text in images just like Google Translate is able to do.

Lens is also able to carry out translations, but the change to Translate today will not translate into the same translation capabilities for Lens.

Sriyansa Mohanty
Sriyansa Mohanty
Student and a Blogger from India.

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.